Skip to content

What to do!

September 27, 2010

If you have read any of my posts you have probably noticed I am pretty fed up with both political parties.  I am a conservative, and have always voted republican, but my trust of the party has been stretched pretty thin over the last couple years.  Now my congressman, Eric Cantor from the 7th district in Virginia, is up for re-election and I really do not know what to do.

Mr. Cantor voted for TARP.  He also voted for the medicare prescription drug bill, as well as No Student Left Behind.  He’s not all bad, he voted against practically all of obama’s nonsense, but that should be expected.  My problem is with what he voted for while we had a republican president who was a social liberal.

Eric Cantor has only been in office for 10 years(seems like a long time but not really for a representative) so he has only served for 2 presidents.  In those ten years he has basically followed party lines; yes for republicans, no for democrats.  So this is where my problem comes from.  If I am to trust the statements of “republicans have lost their way” and “we will return to the principles of fiscal responsibility”, how do I trust him when he has no record of having a (conservative)way to be lost from?  He has followed the party that I agree did lose its way, but did he lose his way(presuming he was more conservative before he joined congress) or was he already lost and just got lucky that the rest of GOP was that way?

If I am to vote for a “party yes man” than I guess it boils down to, do I trust the party to go back to what their principles should be?

So this brings me to the real problem.  I don’t want to “waste” my vote.  That statement, by the way, makes me sick, but having 4 more years of Pelosi does too.  There are alternatives to Cantor I could vote for, one of them is a dem who I will not vote for, the other is a professed conservative who seems to say the right things but I am totally unsure about.  The problem I see, is the independent splitting the vote and us losing the seat to the democrat.  But damn it, I really don’t want to vote for Cantor.

I truly do not know what to do.  Any comments would be appreciated.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JustFacts permalink
    September 27, 2010 1:55 pm

    Let’s look at it this way. If Ross Perot had not been in the Presidential race in 1992, would Clinton have won the White House? I doubt if many Perot voters would have voted for him, and the votes he received were enough to make up the difference in the election, so it is a valid question. Assume Bush had won a second term. The presidency would not have been weakened by the Lewinsky affair (wink, wink, nudge, nudge), and our failure to address world issues appropriately. Perot could never have won with a third party candidacy.

    So, did a vote for Perot result in some of the problems we have now. I absolutely believe it did. I liked a lot of what he had to say, and I admired the man for how he ran his business. His tenacity in getting his people rescued from the Middle East reads like dramatic fiction. (Note: If you haven’t read “On Wings of Eagles” by Ken Follett, you’ve really missed a good read) So, all of that said, there is no way I could have ever voted for him for President of the US.

    Now, fast-forward to today. The only way that I see that we can pull ourselves out of the problems this country faces at this point in time, is to change the direction that we are going. The only way that I can see that we can do that, short of a violent revolution, is to change the makeup of Congress before they have a chance to do any more damage. Do the Republicans have all of the right answers? Absolutely not!!! But, I am willing to give them one more shot at governing with their “Pledge to America” as a basis. If they blow that chance, if they are given it in November, then I’m afraid that there will be no turning back from the course that we are on.

    Elections have consequences.

    • September 27, 2010 6:19 pm

      Isn’t that sort of the problem though. Every election we are told that if we don’t vote for this guy, the consequences will be dire. So basically our elected representatives get carte blanche to act however they want and we have to accept it because if we don’t vote for them, the other guy is worse. And if there is a third alternative, then he will just make sure the democrat will get elected. Honestly, it feels like the system is rigged.

Leave a Reply

