Skip to content

Lawsuit Seeks To Erase The Past – HUMAN EVENTS

November 12, 2010

Lawsuit Seeks To Erase The Past – HUMAN EVENTS.

If I was a wiser and more litigious person, I would be a millionaire by now.  I think back to all the lawsuits I have read about over the years and almost always come to the same conclusion, “WTF, you can’t sue for that!”  Then I come to the next obvious conclusion, “WTF, I should have sued for that!”

This post at Human Events has added another to the list.  The newest get quick scheme from the “what you have done has hurt my fragile little mind” (pretend Cartman is saying it) crowd – suing for emotional trauma resulting from the teaching of slavery.

The student in question, Jala Petree, is black, and is said to have suffered negative effects to her “conditions of learning duties and the advantages of her further education,” along with her “mental and emotional well-being, past, present and future.”  Her father, Jamey Petree, is suing the district for $50,000.00 in damages.

The good news, at least its only $50k, but seriously dude?  Talk about a can of worms.  I am Scottish, can I sue Braveheart for emotional trauma.  Hmm, actually I probably can.  Ok, let me try another one, uhhmm, my wife is German, can she sue her old elementary school for talking about Hitler?  Damn, she probably could.  Ok, bad examples.

If your child is so emotionally fragile she has been permanently damaged by learning about slavery, then I suggest you sleep in a locked room with a gun, cause you are living with an axe-murderer.

Well enough of my two cents, read the excellent article here…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. KatWing permalink
    November 12, 2010 9:19 pm

    I have high blood pressure. I think I should sue Morton Salt.

    • November 12, 2010 9:22 pm

      Hmmm, you probably could get someone to take that one, lol, I suggest Howard Dean.

  2. November 13, 2010 2:07 am

    She is black and studied about slavery in school and now is suing?

    Good god.

  3. LD Jackson permalink
    November 13, 2010 5:11 am

    Good grief, what is someone going to come up with next?

  4. KingShamus permalink
    November 13, 2010 7:02 am

    Yeah, this is pretty cheesey.

    Chris Rock once said a father’s job with his daughter is to keep her off the stripper pole. I’d add that the next job of a dad is to keep his daughter from being a stupid spoiled over-entitled piece of crap.

  5. November 13, 2010 8:56 am

    Can you say reparations?! Now learning history is traumatising? Where will this madness end?

  6. Chuck permalink
    November 13, 2010 11:17 am

    When I read this post, I got so upset I spilled hot coffee in my lap and may now be sterile. Also, in the last 10 seconds, I have developed an irrational fear of lattes. I hope you have a good lawyer….

  7. November 13, 2010 11:18 am

    @Harrison – As if our History isn’t being watered down and lollipopped up enough already, now schools are going to start freaking out about being sued by what they teach.

    @Larry – They make money the new-fashioned way, they sue for it.

    @KS – Hmm, Chris Rock was on to something there. Dads have it hard when society constantly berates their daughters with the message that they are a “unique and beautiful snowflake” while constantly telling them they actually aren’t and would be if they only bought this pair of jeans or this makeup. Damn, lost my way with this comment, it has nothing to do with anything…so, uhm, good point KS. =)

    @Steve – Well if this was too traumatizing, I can safely say they sure as hell aren’t teaching the details of the holocaust in school.

Leave a Reply

