Skip to content

What the Arizona tragedy has taught me about Islam

January 11, 2011

Over the last couple of days, we have been inundated with finger pointing and blame about how Jared Loughner was inadvertently motivated to perpetuate his heinous deed because of the rhetoric of right-wing political figures such as Sarah Palin and Glenn Beck, not to mention the Tea Party in general.  Obviously this is complete nonsense, and is all an attempt by the left to smear their political enemies, but it has taught me a valuable lesson.

Let me give you a quote from a discussion I commented on at Larry Jackson’s blog Political Realities (highly recommended), this is from Mike:

The Tea Party wasn’t even a year old before we started to see and hear messages from some fringe elements advocating Jefferson’s “tree of liberty” quote…and more specifically threatening messages. Let them say whatever they want, that’s their right — what I ask is that the grown-ups tell the children when they’re wrong.

Mike asks me to denounce the “fringe elements”.  My response is, “Is that my responsibility?”  Think about it for a minute.  Who are the “fringe elements” of any group?  The nut job, wacko, screwballs that no one except a small group agree with.  For example, neo-Nazis, eco-terrorists, anti-Zionist peeps, Code Pink, Weather Underground, Westboro Baptist Church, etc.  Should the mainstream feel compelled to denounce them besides the standard denouncement any average person would feel towards these freaks?

I am a strong conservative, I believe in a lot of what the Tea Party believes in, but does that mean just because a nut-job says he agrees with the Tea Party that he and I instantly are kindred spirits?  Of course not, especially if he is a neo-Nazi.  So therefore I feel no obligation to denounce them more so than I would otherwise – I don’t associate with them, I don’t think like them, I don’t want the same things as them, in fact we are so different, it would be like someone saying I should feel obligated to denounce the left for something.

And this is the problem folks.  The more we defend the “right” that the left is conveniently grouping into one large homogenous mass, the more we are inadvertently associating ourselves with the fringe that we don’t agree with.  From now on, we need to tell these left weenies to eat crap when they say we need to denounce people using violent language.  We need to say, “Why?  I don’t associate with those people, they are nut jobs.  They aren’t any conservatives I know.”

But this isn’t what the Arizona tragedy taught me, as I hinted at in the title.  What I have been taught through example is how a moderate Muslim must feel when a psycho blows himself up in the name of their religion.  And also how they must feel when people condemn them for not denouncing the psycho.  We are quick to say these people aren’t policing their own religion, and they need to let the world know they don’t approve of this wacko terror crap, but we need to look at it from a different angle.

If a moderate Muslim doesn’t associate, think, nor act like the psycho terrorist, why should he feel obligated to denounce them?  It’s not his fault the wacko decided to use his religion for ill, just as it is not our fault neo-Nazis decide to use conservatism for their messed up ideology.

One caveat, this applies to regular, every day Muslims.  Not the freaks who come out in the streets praising Allah when a bus full of Israeli children gets blown up – those people can go F**k themselves.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 7:12 pm

    Very good points. Think I’ll reblog this.

    Mike

    • January 11, 2011 7:41 pm

      Thank you. =)

  2. January 11, 2011 8:13 pm

    I am one of those who askes myself why there are no moderate Muslims who come out against the radicals, but you have made a great point here and one that I never thought of before. I might have to rethink my position on this.

    • January 11, 2011 8:36 pm

      To be sure, there are many things about Islam and Muslims I don’t trust, but I think I will tone my condemnation of the “silence” of the moderates with this new view.

    • January 12, 2011 9:37 am

      Ditto what Steve said. Well done fleecy

      • January 12, 2011 10:18 am

        Thank you so much. =)

  3. January 11, 2011 9:19 pm

    Thanks for the link, Colin.

    I’ll be honest, I have also been one of those who has openly questioned why moderate Muslims do not come out and condemn those fools who are killing innocent civilians, but I have thought some of the very same thoughts you have posted. Those thoughts were recently prompted because of the accusations we have seen against the Tea Party and other conservatives. You have given me more food for thought.

    • January 11, 2011 9:24 pm

      My pleasure my friend. =)

      I wonder if we can get away with calling the left conservophobes?

      • January 11, 2011 10:11 pm

        Hey, if they can make up new terms, then so can we. Conservophobes it is.

  4. January 11, 2011 10:18 pm

    Sweet. =)

  5. January 11, 2011 11:40 pm

    It is an interesting point however I think Conservatives do denounce violence whether it comes from the Left or the Right. I do, especially if a political belief is cited as being the main justification. With Islam, there are SO MANY Muslims that if only 1% spoke out and did something a message would be sent. I don’t think all Muslims are terrorists, of course, but I do think that the spokespeople for this religion, especially in the West, all seem to have ties to terrorist organizations.

    • January 12, 2011 12:07 am

      I agree with your comment about the spokespersons, but does the average Joe ever choose these people whom speak for them? Does the average black person choose Jesse Jackson, or do the politicians and the press choose these people? You are not a big fan of Sarah Palin, but the left has decided she speaks for you, does that mean you are responsible for her words and statements? All interesting questions I think, that do not have a clear cut answer.

      And you are correct, conservatives do denounce violence, outright, regardless of the source. I was trying to make the distinction between conservatives being required to denounce more so than we already do.

      • January 12, 2011 12:30 am

        I get your point and it is a good one. I guess nobody should demand all Conservatives speak up. You will always have 95% of the population who says nothing publicly, maybe less.

        I do not dislike or necessarily disagree with Palin, however I understand your point about the Left wanting me to take ownership of her, which I refuse to do.

        If someone, black or not, disagrees with Jackson, will they speak out or remain silent? If killing is done in Islam’s name will a Muslim speak out or not?

        This might be a good topic for me to write about.

      • January 12, 2011 5:40 am

        Glad to be your completely hetero and plutonic muse. =)

  6. January 12, 2011 7:16 am

    I think you have touched on an interesting idea here Colin. I too have often asked myself where is the condemnation from moderate Muslims when some fringe element blows up a building or people. You have given men something to think about. Great post.

    • January 12, 2011 7:20 am

      Thanks John. I have mixed feelings about my realization; there is still a lot about Islam I do not trust, but I am willing to give some of them the benefit of the doubt now.

Trackbacks

  1. Resource Links: Tucson Shooting Propaganda vs. the Truth | Conservative Hideout 2.0
  2. Sunday Hunt For Links – Great Horned Owl Edition | Political Realities

Leave a Reply

