Skip to content

Apparently I am a Greenpeace supporter

March 31, 2011

In an ironic nod to the fact that nobody on Earth actually reads my blog, Greenpeace has decided I am a supporter of theirs.  What’s next, CAIR?  SDS?  The Phillies?

Dear Dan,

Stop deep sea oil

It’s been nearly a year since the Deep Water Horizon began gushing millions of barrels of oil into the Gulf of Mexico.

If the last year has taught us of anything, it’s that there are limits to humanity’s ability to control nature.

Despite the assurances of governments and corporations, accidents do happen, and sometimes with disastrous consequences – as we are now seeing with Japan’s nuclear disaster.

All New Zealanders should be alarmed that our Government is now inviting foreign oil companies to drill for oil in some of New Zealand’s deepest coastal waters.

The beautiful coastline of the North Island’s East Cape is now threatened as the international oil giant Petrobras plans to exploit the region’s deep water oil resources.

Local iwi Te Whanau a Apanui have called on New Zealanders everywhere to join them in defending their precious marine environment.

We are now uniting to respond to that call.

This Sunday, 27 March, a flotilla will depart Auckland’s Princes Wharf, heading for the East Cape, to defend our coastline and our future. More info is available here.

If you happen to be in Auckland, please join us at 12.30 pm to see the flotilla off, and write your message of support on their banner. Otherwise you can send a message of support online here.

We once sent flotillas to defend our Pacific neighbourhood from nuclear testing. Now we must act to save our own coastline and waters from deep sea oil.

Steve Abel

Climate Campaigner

Greenpeace Aotearoa New Zealand

To rub salt in the wound of my enormous anonymity, they called me Dan.  I can understand the oft repeated faux pas of fundraising, misspelling my name – I have been called Collin, Collins, Colleen, Abdul, but never something so egregious as Dan.

Okay, all kidding aside, did you actually read their letter to me?  Let me requote a line for you:

If the last year has taught us of anything, it’s that there are limits to humanity’s ability to control nature.

I don’t know about you, but is this not an admission that anthropogenic climate change is bullcrap?  I’ll let you decide.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 12:28 pm

    Well Dan, we now know your are a hidden agent of the Greenies!~

    • March 31, 2011 2:50 pm

      The secret is out, I am a total conservative fraud. =(

  2. March 31, 2011 4:03 pm

    People read your blog. They may not always comment but they read. The floating dollar post was too deep to leave a one-liner comment. I read it though. Keep up the good work Dan.

    • March 31, 2011 8:38 pm

      Yeah, that sucker was long as hell, but well worth the time to read it. The author’s insights were amazing.

  3. March 31, 2011 7:07 pm

    I don’t read it. I just drop random comments down here. Hopefully, they match the subject matter. 😛

    • March 31, 2011 8:39 pm

      Hah! I knew it!

  4. March 31, 2011 7:49 pm

    It certainly seems as if Greenpeace is admitting what we all know is the truth Dan; global warming is a scam. Yet they still push it and they do so because this has nothing to do with climate change and everything to do with government control and the global redistribution of wealth.

  5. March 31, 2011 8:43 pm

    I know Raul, its a damn scam and it leaves me in a quagmire. Should I continue my undying support for the global warming movement as manifested through my “Climate Campaigner” status with Greenpeace, or should I face facts and accept I am a stinky hippie vicariously living through the actions of younger, stinkier hippies?

  6. March 31, 2011 10:37 pm

    They ran out of supporters in New Zealand?

    • April 1, 2011 3:59 am

      I think they ran out of money. =P

  7. April 1, 2011 12:36 am

    I see your “Greenpeace” and I raise you a “Move-On dot org member”!

    • April 1, 2011 4:00 am

      Ewww, I think you got me beat.

  8. April 1, 2011 12:47 am

    “nobody on Earth actually reads my blog”

    Beg your pardon?!

    • April 1, 2011 4:07 am

      Ahh, well maybe a few people do. I am guessing they are closet Greenpeace supporters as well. =)

      Nice to see you back at fleeceme Larry. =)

  9. April 1, 2011 9:19 am

    ha ha ha ha! That is hilarious. Was it an unsolicited email? Maybe somebody signed you up as a joke or something.

    Good find, too, within the letter. I probably wouldn’t have noticed. Amazing how leftist reasoning is so twisted now, they don’t even notice when they accidentally disprove themselves.

    • April 1, 2011 12:03 pm

      If someone signed me up, they are no friend of mine, lol.

  10. April 2, 2011 12:00 am

    Funny. I get email from Barbara Boxer and Pete Stark because they are my Senator and Representative, but not from Feinstein, although I’m sure I contacted her at some point. Nothing exiting, though.

    • April 2, 2011 1:35 am

      That sucks, I get enough spam already with out my stupid “representatives” mailing me trying to convince me how great of a job they are doing for me.

Leave a Reply

