Skip to content

Some Hope we can believe in

July 1, 2011

I caught the first game of the Women’s World Cup involving the number one ranked US Women’s team on ESPN last night (the game was on 6/28, I watched a replay).  I love soccer, and I really love women’s soccer.  Before you get a ton of perverted thoughts in your heads, it ain’t what you think.  Women’s soccer is a purer form of the sport, it is more grounded in the basics of the game, it’s slower (attacks are allowed to build up), and most importantly, women dive a lot less than their male counterparts.  For those that don’t know, a dive is when someone looks at you the wrong way and you pretend like you got shot from an Elephant Gun, flopping around on the ground in excruciating pain until, miraculously, you are all better after the referee awards you a free kick.  Yeah, its freaking weak (thankfully, neither US soccer team is known for diving) and I feel like breaking something everytime a wuss does so.

Anyhoo…yeah, the Women’s World Cup is on, and you should check it out.  We won our first match in Group C play, beating the North Koreans 2-0 (take that commie scum!).  Next match is tomorrow at 12pm EST against Columbia.  If you aren’t a fan of the sport, maybe I can show you some pics to pique your interest.

Her name is Hope Solo, and she is a total babe.  Not in the way we characterize most sports “babes” which would be, she is only hot because she is an athlete, otherwise she is nothing special.  Nope, Hope  Solo is smoking hot, on or off the field.

 

Did I mention she is built!

For whatever reason, watch our girls representing us this year in Germany, they need your support!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 4:38 pm

    I believe.

    • July 1, 2011 4:40 pm

      Also, is she related to Han?

      • July 1, 2011 4:59 pm

        HAHA. I never even made that association. Wow, I am retarded, lol.

  2. bunkerville permalink
    July 1, 2011 6:25 pm

    I understand that the only reason we beat North Korea was because 5 of their members were struck by lightening…. so we were very very very lucky! I know it is true because North Korea said so,

    • JustFacts permalink
      July 1, 2011 10:01 pm

      I read that too. Amazing that their coach didn’t mention it to anyone before they got their asses handed to them, literally, by the US team. And, of course, the US women had beaten them all 4 times they had previously played. Maybe THAT was the lightning the coach was alluding to.

      • July 1, 2011 11:49 pm

        They were executed for disloyalty – losing to America will not be tolerated!

    • July 1, 2011 11:48 pm

      By lightning you mean “firing squad” for failing the people.

  3. July 2, 2011 12:24 pm

    fleecme, I am also a football fan. I lived and played at the Real Madrid Club, and I am still a member. I never saw women’s ‘futbol’ until the US won the Olympics in Atlanta.
    It is uncannily true what you say about “women dive a lot less than their male counterparts”. They also tackle a lot less, and that part I miss. I still love the sport but one of my pet complains is all the acting going on among the professional teams in Europe where diving is prevalent.
    I am beginning to enjoy women’s ‘futbol’ for all the same reasons as you. (The tackling will eventually come in as competition hardens).

    • July 2, 2011 12:48 pm

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. =)

      Real Madrid! Awesome!

      Yeah, diving has gotten so bad in the various Leagues around the world that I have pretty much stopped watching Men’s Football. When I played, i took pride in never going down (and if I did, popping up immediately and continuing the play) – it was a mentality which I held as a defender and a Stopper, that “you ain’t gonna take me out of a play”. For sure, I probably could have gotten more calls for my team (and maybe that is what they coach nowadays?) but I’ll be damned if I am gonna flop for a free-kick. It ruins the game, and I think they should card people who do it, or at least make a rule where you must leave the field of play for 5-minutes or something whenever you are “destroyed” by someone brushing up against you.

  4. July 2, 2011 12:51 pm

    The women’s club could beat the men’s club. USA won today. It’s a slower game and harder to watch for me but in the end I want the USA to win it all. defutebol.net

    • July 2, 2011 12:55 pm

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. =)

      I understand your sentiment about it being harder to watch – there are times during the game where you expect an outcome, a typical outcome if it was a men’s game, but do to the slower action, certain plays don’t pan out the way we expect them to. But overtime, my expectations have aligned with the pace of the game, so it is not so hard for me anymore. =)

      And yes, we won! Beat Columbia 3-0, should have been like 6or 7-0, man we had a lot of ringers off the frame. Nonetheless, the one’s that went in were incredible goals. =)

  5. naomikalume permalink
    July 6, 2011 11:45 pm

    I am with you! I love love love. Soccer and women’s soccer is highly underrated, we lost to Switzerland today, and now we’re facing Brazil on sunday and it’ll be a tough one, but these girls are tough, and they are out to defend their title and it should be a battle, one that I am excited to watch. I can’t wait. They are such an inspiration.

    • July 7, 2011 8:59 am

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. =)

      Yeah, the loss to Sweden was hard to take, but at least Abby Wambach got off the scoring snide, hopefully she can bring some momentum into Sunday’s game.

Leave a Reply

