Skip to content

What goes for a Christmas pageant nowadays

January 30, 2012

About a month late on this one, but hey, its still relevant.

On December 17th of last year, I was treated to my 11 year old daughter’s school hosting a Christmas musical, errr, Holiday Play, damn, ummm, Winter Wonderland?  Ahh, whatever its called I was in for a treat!

I knew something was up when I was handed the program for the night’s festivities.  Emblazoned across the bi-folded bright blue piece of copy-paper thrust into my hand by the surprisingly insistent hooligan forced to hand out the syllabus for tonight’s lecture was “Project Peace: How kids can teach us to be more tolerant in the world.”  Oh boy!  This is gonna be a blast!

I hate to admit, I did not save this precious article in my daughter’s baby book, I am such a bad parent, so I have nothing to reference when remembering what passes for a Christmas play in our day and age, but let’s just say it was a bunch of horribly acted skits, interspersed with horribly sung and poorly danced numbers with the occasional condescending lecture from an eleven-year-old who apparently knows more about the world than I do.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not knocking the performers, I am decrying the nature of the performance.  WTF!  Project Peace?  How kids can teach us to be more tolerant in the world?  Whatever happened to Rudolph, or Santa Clause, or Frosty?  I went to this damn school, and I was always doing plays.  Of the two I can remember, one was Shakespeare and the other was Ovid.  Maybe it wasn’t Broadway quality, but at least we tried.  And it had to be entertaining to see your kid wearing a real costume, remembering actual lines of literature, and lettin it rip on stage.  But the crap I saw that sad winter night was complete drivel.

I understand schools are limited in their choices of plays because everyone has to participate.  It wouldn’t be right for Little Double-Left Foot Larry to have to prove his worth to a true theatrical production, nah, just shove his goofy ass in the back row and let him phone it in.  But even so, what’s with the Project Peace crap?

So what my child basically learns is that her parents are a bunch of bigots and only she and her friends are smart enough to show us the error of our ways.  We need to be tolerant of other people, its mucho importante, and to show us neanderthals the way home, let’s put on a Moronity Play, because are parental units are too dumb to follow anything more cerebral.

And then it dawned on me…as I slowly looked around the cafeteria/auditorium, there was not a single finger-painted poster having anything to do with Christmas.  For sure there was a plethora of hand-made wall-hangings, but it was all typical progressive lefty bullcrap.

And I finally figured it out.  The true definition of tolerance.  Tolerance is the ability of the majority to tolerate the intolerance of the minority.

76% of America is Christian, but we can’t have the word Christmas in our schools?  Ergo, we have to tolerate that intolerance by the other 14%.

So here I am sitting learning from an 11-year-old future fascist (not my kid, the ugly girl talking to me about gun-control…I’m not kidding) about how to be tolerant of others, while the school’s walls are teaching me the true message, “Bite into this progressive s**t-burger and like it, cause we run education baby.”

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 12:19 am

    Gun control and Christmas? That’s bizarre.
    Glad to see you back. 🙂

    • February 1, 2012 10:12 am

      Yeah, that was the proverbial straw if you will. Thanks =)

  2. JustFacts permalink
    January 31, 2012 6:09 am

    Communism doesn’t have to win with bombs and violence. All they have to do is win the minds of the children through instruction by their liberal minions in academia.

  3. January 31, 2012 6:17 am

    Glad to see you back!

    “Tolerance is the ability of the majority to tolerate the intolerance of the minority.”

    That line really does sum it all up, doesn’t it?!

    • February 1, 2012 10:15 am

      I think it makes sense. We hear about it all the time, some Muslims going to a Catholic college (uhh, obvious alert!) don’t like all the Catholic symbolism so they start complaining, or, they are intolerant. And of course, the pressure goes to the Catholics to change their behavior because a couple of whiny brats can’t tolerate someone else’s religion.

  4. January 31, 2012 11:10 pm

    LOL, intolerance = tolerance, and 2 + 2 = 5, haven’t you figured that out yet? If it makes you feel any better, your description of the whole event is funny. A Southpark episode comes to mind, do you the one?

    • February 1, 2012 10:15 am

      The only southpark Christmas episode I can think of is the first season one with Mr. Hanky. Uber-fail on my part. =(

  5. February 3, 2012 10:46 pm

    I just wrote an article on education. Progressives run the education system and have for several decades.

  6. February 5, 2012 7:47 am

    Ergo, one reason that I cannot bring myself to teach in the public schools — never mind the good salary and the sterling benefits package.

    • February 5, 2012 10:01 am

      Yeah, it is a sad state of affairs in our public education system, and even sadder when you consider the ideological barrier to entry the progressives represent.

Trackbacks

  1. What goes for a Christmas pageant nowadays « CHRISTIAN PARENT HUB- CHRISTIAN PARENT NEWS AGGREGATOR

Leave a comment